JYW 01/13/2022 Item No. 17

ORDINANCE 2022-01-13-0012

APPOINTING ANTOINETTE BRUMFIELD (HOUSING EXPERT), ERIC COOPER (COMMUNITY REPRESENTATIVE) AND JANE PACCIONE (COMMUNITY REPRESENTATIVE) FOR THE REMAINDER OF AN UNEXPIRED TERM ENDING MAY 31, 2023, AND MARINELLA MURILLO (HOUSING EXPERT), RACHELL HATHAWAY (HOUSING EXPERT) AND JORDAN GHAWI (COMMUNITY REPRESENTATIVE) OR THE REMAINDER OF AN UNEXPIRED TERM ENDING MAY 31, 2025 TO THE SAN ANTONIO HOUSING TRUST BOARD OF TRUSTEES, THE SAN ANTONIO HOUSING TRUST FOUNDATION, THE SAN ANTONIO HOUSING TRUST FOUNDATION, AND THE SAN ANTONIO HOUSING TRUST FINANCE CORPORATION.

* * * * *

WHEREAS, on June 10, 2021, the City Council approved the governance restructuring for the San Antonio Housing Trust, the San Antonio Housing Trust Foundation, the San Antonio Housing Trust Public Facility Corporation, and the San Antonio Housing Trust Finance Corporation; and

WHEREAS, under the new structure, the Board of Trustees for the Housing Trust will also serve as the Board of Directors for the Housing Trust Foundation, Public Facilities Corporation and Finance Corporation, which will be comprised of five City Councilmembers; one City staff representative who is advisory only; three Community Representatives having experience in housing advocacy, non-profit fundraising, policy making, community engagement, or reside in an affordable housing unit; and three Housing Industry Experts having experience in real estate, financial underwriting, property development, housing finance, capital markets, lending, construction, property management, or other relevant industry experience; and

WHEREAS, terms are for four years after initial staggering with one additional four- year renewal option; and

WHEREAS, the City Clerk's Office received 36 applications for the six Community Representative seats, and on December 15, 2021 the Governance Committee interviewed shortlisted candidates and recommended six candidates to City Council to serve as Community Representatives and Housing Experts on the San Antonio Housing Trust Board of Trustees, the San Antonio Housing Trust Public Facility Corporation, and the San Antonio Housing Trust Finance Corporation; and

WHEREAS, the San Antonio Housing Trust appoints the members of the San Antonio Housing Trust Foundation; therefore, it is now necessary for the City Council to appoint the six individuals listed above to the four Trust entities; **NOW**, **THEREFORE**:

JYW 01/13/2022 Item No. 17

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. Antoinette Brumfield (Housing Expert), Eric Cooper (Community Representative) and Jane Paccione (Community Representative) are appointed for the remainder of an unexpired term ending May 31, 2023, and Marinella Murillo (Housing Expert), Rachell Hathaway (Housing Expert) and Jordan Ghawi (Community Representative) are appointed for the remainder of an unexpired term ending May 31, 2025 to the San Antonio Housing Trust Board of Trustees, the San Antonio Housing Trust Public Facility Corporation, and the San Antonio Housing Trust Finance Corporation.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 13th day of January, 2022.

M A 0 R

Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

Debbie Racca-Sittre, Acting City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

ameene G. Williams Andrew Segovia, City Attorney



City of San Antonio

City Council Meeting January 13, 2022

17.

2022-01-13-0012

Approving the following appointments to the San Antonio Housing Trust Board of Trustees, the San Antonio Housing Trust Public Facility Corporation, and the San Antonio Housing Trust Finance Corporation for the terms as shown below [Debbie Racca-Sittre, Interim City Clerk] A) Antoinette Brumfield (Housing Expert), Eric Cooper (Community Representative) and Jane Paccione (Community Representative) for the remainder of an unexpired term ending May 31, 2023

B) Marinella Murillo (Housing Expert), Rachell Hathaway (Housing Expert) and Jordan Ghawi (Community Representative) for the remainder of an unexpired term ending May 31, 2025

Councilmember Rocha Garcia moved to Approve on the Consent Agenda. Councilmember Cabello Havrda seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Castillo, Cabello Havrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage, Perry